Pulitzers, Trees, Winter, and Books

Although my book has been selling well, it apparently does not hold a candle to Gilbert King’s Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, The Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America. King’s book won the 2013 nonfiction Pulitzer Prize, mine did not. I am proud to say though, that mine was nominated. Two other books that the judges really liked were Katherine Boo’s Behind the Beautiful Forevers and David George Haskell’s The Forest Unseen. Although I have no way of knowing, I hope the judges did enjoy my book as much as everyone else who has seen it.

Yes, I did say “seen it” rather than read it. When Art of Winter: A Photographic Essay first came out, one reader remarked, “This is my type of book – very few words.” The story the book tells is told in photographs and very few words; just enough words but not too many to distract from the visual beauty of the book. Others have given it glowing praise. Check out the reviews on Amazon.com and on my website http://www.JulieMCovert.com/artofwinterbook.html. The book trailer will give you a good sense of what the book is about and show you a number of images from the book.

From what I have learned online, my book is much closer to Haskell’s than King’s. Haskell “wanted to tell the stories of the forest.” I tell the stories of the incredible and often stunning artwork that winter creates with ice and snow. He told his story over a year, my book tells the story of one winter. Each day told a new story and revealed new creations, many of which were gone a few hours later or the next day. He focused on one square meter in Tennessee, I walked a forty acre island in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, often in sub-freezing temperatures at the crack of dawn.

Often while walking those forty acres, I thought about documenting it’s changes through the seasons. Maybe that will be my next book. In the meantime, I am looking forward to receiving my copy of Haskell’s book.

We both have signed copies of our respective books available directly from each of us. So if you like mine I encourage you to get a copy of his and vice versa. He’s at theforestunseen.com and I’m at JulieMCovert.com

Have you read either one? What do you think?

About juliemckaycovert

I am a therapist, teacher, photographer and published author. I am a lover of life and nature. My husband, Hugh, and I live off the grid on a remote 40 acre island, Shelter Island, just off of Drummond Island in the far eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. This blog is about my life, a life I thought I'd never be able to live. This blog is about dreams and ideals being manifested. It is about daily events with a backwoods twist. It is about the simple pleasures and wonders being brought forth. I invite you to be inspired and even, as some friends have, live vicariously through my words.
This entry was posted in Art of Winter book, Book, Michigan, Nature, Photography, Upper Peninsula, Winter, Woods, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

