Exciting news! And an interesting perspective…

This morning I sent out some emails asking some well respected photographers if they would consider looking at my book and writing an endorsement for it.

An hour and a half later one of them replied saying that he would be happy to write an endorsement for my book. He is an internationally known photographer. I’m not going to reveal his name yet, until he sends me his assessment. So stay tuned for the revealing.

The other thing that has been interesting is that I put up a Facebook Author/Photographer fan page at http://www.facebook.com/JulieMCovert I’ve been having people who are in my LinkedIn and Facebook groups come by and “Like” my page. Some of them have looked at my photos and complimented them. To which I say, “Thank you.” But they are not looking at my Kickstarter project or if they are they are not pledging. I can identify where and how each of the 37 backers have heard about the project.

Now if only I can figure out how to motivate people to pledge to my Kickstarter project so I can actually raise enough money to print the book, then and only then will the endorsement will be helpful. If people don’t pledge then I don’t get any of what has been pledged. I have less than 19 more days to raise $5494.

I don’t think it is an issue of not finding the link to the project – I have it plastered all over the place.

I don’t think it is an issue of time because many of these people are online with FB and LinkedIn.

I don’t think it is an issue of money, either because a decent pledge is ONLY $30 – AND that gets you a copy of this beautiful book.

So my question to you, dear reader, what is holding you back from pledging?

Your credit card isn’t charged until the full amount of the goal, $8000, is pledged. When I raise the $8000 then your card is charged and only then and you’ll get your book (or more if you pledged more.) So if I don’t raise the $8000 you don’t loose your money.

So how about it? $30 for a gorgeous book?

$30 to help a worthwhile project?

$30 to support a fellow starving-artist blogger?

Nowadays, it’s less than the cost of taking your friend out for lunch.

And $50 gets your name in the acknowledgments, in a book endorsed by an internationally known photographer. So you know this isn’t just any book.

Check it out and (please) pledge today. I could really use your help and would appreciate it.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1039439249/art-of-winter?ref=live

About juliemckaycovert

I am a therapist, teacher, photographer and published author. I am a lover of life and nature. My husband, Hugh, and I live off the grid on a remote 40 acre island, Shelter Island, just off of Drummond Island in the far eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. This blog is about my life, a life I thought I'd never be able to live. This blog is about dreams and ideals being manifested. It is about daily events with a backwoods twist. It is about the simple pleasures and wonders being brought forth. I invite you to be inspired and even, as some friends have, live vicariously through my words.
This entry was posted in Art of Winter book, Blog, Book, Ice, Kickstarter, Michigan, Nature, Photography, Upper Peninsula, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

