It’s been an exciting day, kind of. Will you buy my book?

It’s been an exciting day, kind of. Will you buy my book?

On my mile hike to work I got to see a sandhill crane and two white-tailed deer. During spring, this is an everyday occurrence. Even though yesterday was the first day of spring, we don’t celebrate spring until after the last winter snowstorm. When spring eventually fully arrives, I’ll be pining for winter.

So how does this relate to my book? I bought my UPC for my book! That was scary and exciting. It is something I never dreamed I’d be doing. My book, “Art of Winter” is a photography coffee table book about the beauty that winter creates with snow and ice. http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1039439249/art-of-winter

All the photographs are from where I live. Included in the book are two essays, one is entitled “I Miss Winter.” It is about how I came to love winter and all the splendor and incredible treasures it creates for the eye. Winter is my favorite season and I love it more than any other season for it’s amazing beauty. Once you see my book, you’ll understand what I mean.

I’m actively trying to raise $8000 for to cover the printing costs to have it professionally printed so that I can then put it into traditional distribution. There’s another $10,000 of costs involved. I’ll be shelling it out to pay for, among other things, the graphic design and file preparation and the publicity campaign that will be done for the book.

I emailed my publicist today and asked her, “How do I politely ask people to buy my book?”

Her response was to just be persistent and know that it’s what is necessary. And to perhaps let people on my mailing list know that I’ll stop emailing them when the pledge to back my book or the money is raised, which ever comes first.

So far I’ve raised $1075, which means I only have 23 days to raise $6925.

So tomorrow I’m sending a flurry of emails with the appeal for help. You are getting the Wednesday night version.

Will you buy my book? Thank you!

And I’d greatly appreciate if you would pass on to all your family and friends the link to this project and ask them to back it with you. I need either 239 people to pledge $30 each or $6925 raised in various increments.

But time IS of the essence. I only have 23 more days to raise this money or else I don’t get any of it.
With your help this can be done.

The other exciting thing was I saw an Eastern meadowlark on my hike home. We’ve never seen them here before!

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1039439249/art-of-winter

Thanks again,

Julie

http://www.JulieMcKay.net

About juliemckaycovert

I am a therapist, teacher, photographer and published author. I am a lover of life and nature. My husband, Hugh, and I live off the grid on a remote 40 acre island, Shelter Island, just off of Drummond Island in the far eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. This blog is about my life, a life I thought I'd never be able to live. This blog is about dreams and ideals being manifested. It is about daily events with a backwoods twist. It is about the simple pleasures and wonders being brought forth. I invite you to be inspired and even, as some friends have, live vicariously through my words.
This entry was posted in Art of Winter book, Birds, Book, Kickstarter, Photography, Sandhill crane, Spring, Winter, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

