Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual

I’m really focused right now on my photography coffee table book Art of Winter.

Two nights ago my husband kissed me on the top of my head.

“Good night love, I’ll see you in the morning.” He wandered off to bed.

“I’ll be right there.”

That’s when I realized I should take the time to post my submission for the weekly photo challenge, but I didn’t get it up because my book again beckoned me to work on it.

Here’s the photo that immediately came to mind when I thought of unusual.

This is one of the images from the book. I call it “Ice Baubles.” When the waves are slow, gentle and steady they lap over a rock and slowly freeze. For some reason the ice forms in these round globule shapes. There’s another one that made me think of an ice jelly fish.

Winter creates some of the most beautiful and most unusual formations with snow and ice. If you haven’t had a chance to check out my forthcoming book, I’d appreciate if you would consider supporting my Kickstarter project. You can get a copy of the book and other great stuff by being a backer. Everything is explained at:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1039439249/art-of-winter

Thank you and enjoy!

About juliemckaycovert

I am a therapist, teacher, photographer and published author. I am a lover of life and nature. My husband, Hugh, and I live off the grid on a remote 40 acre island, Shelter Island, just off of Drummond Island in the far eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. This blog is about my life, a life I thought I'd never be able to live. This blog is about dreams and ideals being manifested. It is about daily events with a backwoods twist. It is about the simple pleasures and wonders being brought forth. I invite you to be inspired and even, as some friends have, live vicariously through my words.
This entry was posted in Art of Winter book, Book, Kickstarter, Michigan, Photography, Water, Weekly Photo Challenge, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual

  1. Stunning – if we had these I would take photos of nothing else…great shot!

  2. cobbies69 says:

    pretty spectacular and well captured, thanks for this share …;)

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    wow – these photos are really amazing

  4. Ruth Bailey says:

    These are amazing photos. I’ve never seen ice bubbles/baubles. I really like the composition of the first photo with the shafts of light shining through and diffused by the ice and the bubble strip contrasting with the darker water on the top and bottom.

  5. Nature never ceases to amaze.

What are your thoughts?

