#1d Who Would Think?

Thursday, April 22, 2010

It’s a brisk 34 degrees this morning when we got up at 7:15. Who would think that at 7:15 AM I’d be all bright eyed and bushy tailed declaring “I’m looking forward to another wonderful day!”? A year ago I’d be telling you you were crazy. I like sleeping and when I get a chance to sleep in I take it. It’s not that I’m lazy it’s that I like dreaming and I like my sleep.

There’s no sleeping in this morning. The sun is beating our eyelids, crying “Wake up! It’s another gorgeous day in Heaven” and Hugh needs to get to the sawmill by 8:30 for work. The rest of the guys are already there hard at work, at 7 AM. They know that for Hugh being there that early was not going to happen. I don’t blame him at all. Here we’re on Islandia time – sleeping with the sun and things getting done at their own pace without the hustle and bustle of “civilization.” Living on an island and off the grid affords you some “luxuries” that others can’t claim. In particular setting your own schedule.

Setting our own schedule is the case most of the time. There is one exception. We’re on Shelter Island. To get to mainland, depending upon where the truck is parked we have to boat or hike to Drummond Island. Taking the boat is about 20 minutes, hiking out takes about 40 minutes. From there we have to drive to the ferry crossing at Detour Village. That is where there is a schedule that no one can speed up or slow down, not even the school buses. (Yes there are a couple of school buses for the Drummond kids.)

Then there’s the ritual morning cup of coffee to help jump start the day. Anyone who knows me knows that I don’t drink coffee. Anyone who’s been in a relationship with me knows that I’m best left to my own devices to wander around the house, doing a little of this and a little of that as I wipe the sleep from my eyes, until I meander into the shower. Ahh, a long hot shower is my “morning cup of joe.” Good days start with nice long hot showers. It provides a place for me to clear my mind, think about the day, what is to happen, what I want to happen and to let thoughts drizzle through my brain. I have many “Eureka!” moments in the shower.

But here there is no shower. Well technically there is a shower head, on one of those shower hoses but there is no shower curtain around the tub so using the shower means making a mess all over. So far I’ve just taken a bath at night and then crawled directly into bed.

Instead of my morning shower, Hugh makes me a big cup of tea. I wander onto the porch to breath in the invigorating 34 degree air. That and the hearty breakfast he makes us wakes me up well.

So here I am, in the middle of no where — okay actually we’re at about North 45 deg 55’ latitude and West 83 deg 35’ longitude, in Lake Huron. The border for Canada is closer that the nearest town. The wind is coming across the lake from the northeast and there’s hardly a cloud in the sky. The pileated woodpecker is making more noise than the gulls and geese. That will change as the day warms and the gulls start harassing each other.

I’ve got a cup of hot tea in hand, a warm wood stove going and a wonderful man who loves me dearly. As I write this I remember how as I closed my eyes last night he told me, “I’m so glad you’re here.”

“Me too.”

Me too, I reaffirm as I wonder what wonderful things will happen today.

About juliemckaycovert

I am a therapist, teacher, photographer and published author. I am a lover of life and nature. My husband, Hugh, and I live off the grid on a remote 40 acre island, Shelter Island, just off of Drummond Island in the far eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. This blog is about my life, a life I thought I'd never be able to live. This blog is about dreams and ideals being manifested. It is about daily events with a backwoods twist. It is about the simple pleasures and wonders being brought forth. I invite you to be inspired and even, as some friends have, live vicariously through my words.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

