#1b The House

Thursday, April 22, 2010

I arrived Monday afternoon in Sault Saint Marie, Michigan. It’s pronounced Sue Saint Marie and locally known as The Soo. By the time we got to the house after doing some errands and grocery shopping the sun was setting and it was time to make dinner. There was only time for a penny’s worth of a tour of the  house. It’s an open floor plan so stand in one place and you see it all. The entrance to the living quarters is in the north corner at the top of the stairs, on the second floor. The bathroom with large soaking tub is in the east corner, then the kitchen and dining room are on the south-east wall and south corner. One the south-west side, off the dining room is a porch/deck. (By the way, what’s the difference between a porch and a deck?) The deck is along the entire side of the house. Back inside, on the same wall is a stairway going up to the attic. There’s a cupola which provides light and head space for an extra sleeping area.

In the west corner of the house there are no windows as that is the bedroom corner. The northwest wall is lined with bookcases, nautical charts of the area and a window. In the middle of the house are the two wood stoves. One is facing the kitchen and is a cookstove. Dinner was made on it last night. It provides some heat but is not as efficient as the wood stove that backs up to it, facing the “living room” area of two rockers and side table and lamp.

Downstairs, the first floor has the workshop running one length of the house. In the middle is a breezeway that can be closed off by sliding doors to keep the bears and other critters out. The bears are also the reason the living quarters are on the second floor. On the other side of the first floor is the utility room and storage.

The house is post and beam construction with wood floors through out. The walls are either wood tongue and groove or plaster. The kitchen island has a gorgeous wood countertop and the dining room table extends off of it. Both of which Hugh built. Actually he designed and built it all. The man amazes me, utterly and completely. I’ve known him five and a half months now and there are things he will tell me or that he does that makes me scratch my head going “How in the world would he think of that?” There is so much that he knows about and knows how to do that it boggles my mind. I told him the other night after he said something that left me amazed, “Life will never be dull or boring with you. And I’m glad.”

 

About juliemckaycovert

I am a therapist, teacher, photographer and published author. I am a lover of life and nature. My husband, Hugh, and I live off the grid on a remote 40 acre island, Shelter Island, just off of Drummond Island in the far eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. This blog is about my life, a life I thought I'd never be able to live. This blog is about dreams and ideals being manifested. It is about daily events with a backwoods twist. It is about the simple pleasures and wonders being brought forth. I invite you to be inspired and even, as some friends have, live vicariously through my words.
This entry was posted in Michigan, Shelter Island and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What are your thoughts?

