#1a This is Heaven

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

If Belize was paradise with its warm tropical breezes and white coral beaches, this is Heaven.

I’m sitting here writing on Hugh’s second story deck. The house is on Drummond Island in the Eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. It’s beautiful. The gulls and Canada geese are crying to each other. Lake Huron gently laps the bedrock shore trying to lull me to sleep on this serenely beautiful day. I arrived yesterday, Monday to spend three weeks with Hugh. He’s off working at the sawmill and I’m working on my next book. I can tell now that going back to Baltimore is going to be very difficult. This is where I belong, in the country. Sure there will be some adjustments (expensive internet) and some challenges (sources of good veggies), but that can all be worked out.

Part of me feels that I should be writing by hand rather than sitting out on the deck typing away on my MacBook Pro. We’re off the grid here. There is no electrical or sewer line to the house. The house is on a little island of its own, Shelter Island, just off Drummond Island. Solar voltaics provide electricity, and propane gas for cooking, refrigeration and hot water. Two wood stoves provide heating options – one for cooking and heating and one for just heating. Fresh water comes right from the lake. Miles away a quarry freighter is heard chugging away as it carries its load of dolomite down South.

Illusions of land over the horizon are seen hovering above the lake. It is the bewitching of Morgan Le Fay. At one moment a single sighting of Canada is seen to the East. A little while later, two then three images of Canada are hovering over the water’s horizon. The photographer wants a picture of it. The camera knows there’s nothing to focus on and refuses to cooperate in auto-focus mode. “Fine, I’ll do it myself” I tell my camera as I switch to manual focus.

Cell phone signals drop in and out. The nearest cell tower is about twenty miles away. The phone booster antenna on the roof helps improve the signal, but is no guarantee that even though I can get a text message, that I’ll get Hugh’s call telling me he’s on his way home.

“I hope you like the place” he told me a week and a half ago, “It’s a bit like glorified camping.” It’s nothing like glorified camping, it is the manifestation of a life long dream — right down to the composting toilet.

 

About juliemckaycovert

I am a therapist, teacher, photographer and published author. I am a lover of life and nature. My husband, Hugh, and I live off the grid on a remote 40 acre island, Shelter Island, just off of Drummond Island in the far eastern Upper Peninsula of Michigan. This blog is about my life, a life I thought I'd never be able to live. This blog is about dreams and ideals being manifested. It is about daily events with a backwoods twist. It is about the simple pleasures and wonders being brought forth. I invite you to be inspired and even, as some friends have, live vicariously through my words.
This entry was posted in Michigan, Off the Grid, Shelter Island and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #1a This is Heaven

  1. Tara says:

    I am official envious. And only on post # 2.
    Wow. Sounds like paradise that’s for sure!

    • juliemckay says:

      Welcome Tara – It’s paradise here if you enjoy living an adventure, because each day certainly is different from the next. I wouldn’t exactly call it easy, but the beauty that we’re surrounded by is so worth it! Entries #34 and #35 have pictures of walks in the snow and ice. You can see more pictures on my website Enjoy!

  2. Wow, it sounds like an amazing place and even better, living off the grid. Good for you! Hopefully it’s also full of inspiration, fueling your writing and your soul.

    • juliemckay says:

      Hi Sharisse,
      Thanks for reading. Yes it is an amazing place and very inspiring. Lots to write about, so much so that it can be a distraction from other writing projects. But on the good side I am turning it into a manuscript for publication.
      Enjoy!

What are your thoughts?

